Let the Discussion Begin

I’ve been trying to think of ways to make a difference in this broken world. I’ve been hoping that an answer might enter my mind and work its way to my heart. I’ve been praying for solutions. I’ve been begging for insight. I’ve been dreaming of a cure to the ills that ail us.

But nothing has come. I have no grand plan. I have no vision that will make it possible to achieve peace. I have no agenda or 10-point plan.

And so I turn to you, my brothers and sisters of faith, my global family. What is the solution? What actions have you taken to bring justice to your corner of the world? What movement have you made to help with the healing?

I want to hear from you. I want to start the discussion. I want to have a dialogue of hope and peace. What are your thoughts?

Where in this world do we begin?

One thought on “Let the Discussion Begin

  1. Awareness is the first step, right? Somehow I moved to a part of the country that seems “more progressive,” but in actuality it’s just as segregated as rural Indiana– segregated by the cost of living, 98% white I’m guessing. I studied intercultural relations. I read– Ta-Nehisi Coates, Roxanne Gay– to get my head in the right place, and I talk with well-meaning people of faith. I don’t know how to offer assistance or alliance with victims of violence from my busy life. Having a “heart in the right place” doesn’t seem to make much of a difference if I’m physically located in the wrong place to do much good, and I have no money to contribute to causes I believe in. I HATE the firestorms when I take political positions on Facebook– I have very conservative friends, libertarian friends, uber-liberal friends, and they are all FRIENDS. If awareness is the first step, what is the second?

    Like

Leave a Reply

